Oh Lord, you have searched me and known me…

Kylie’s Log: Sunday 12th April 2015 (with apologies to Star Trek)

Today I will divert from my historical reminiscences to focus on…

…Just Today.

This morning I played truant from attending Church – to attend church. (Sad, isn’t it?). My beautiful friend and colleague Claire was coordinating music at her own congregation and had asked me a fortnight ago for some tips. I laughingly said, “How about I come along and we’ll do it together?” She asked if I was serious, and I countered: “Why Not?”

I did a quick diary check and confirmed that I had no commitments at my own church for Sunday 12th, so agreed to bring my violin along and some Christian sheet music to give Claire’s service a few frills.

Then a few days ago, when she rang to confirm the hymn choices, Claire made an admission. “Its actually a bit of a special occasion” she confided. “”I’m getting baptised”. “Well then, girl!” I exclaimed, “I’ll be there with bells on!”

So, this morning I packed my family off to our regular haunt “Trinity” and trusted Google maps to find Claire’s church in Burleigh. Therefore I arrived a little later than I had planned, only to find a worried looking cohort waiting for me. “Oh, she’s here!” they all announced in unison (“I’m not that late, am I?”, I thought). Then it transpired that the regular church organist was ill so – I. Was. It.

So the hour that followed was a quite concentrated, yet joyous experience of “winging it” as I flitted from Organ, to Piano, to Choir accompanist, to a spot of violin near the end, including whispered negotiations during prayers with the regular elderly pianist. All went well, the major hitch being the first congregational hymn when I put fingers to keys but no sound came out. “Did you hit 3?” “Its Hymn 330” “Is the Master volume up?” the helpful locals hissed, while all eyes bore into my back and the Minister stalled. Finally I worked out what was wrong! I had turned the power off to clean the dusty keyboard and then forgotten to turn the switch on again! Duh!

The Baptism itself was moving, and I was touched that Claire picked out our Boss Lindsay (who also attended) and I as people special to her, who had encouraged her on her walk of Christian Faith.

At the end, the Minister gave a number of “thank yous” and singled me out for my musical multi-tasking. “A special Thank you to Kylie, who is… “…. (Here we go, I thought – those of you who know me – or indeed just read “Serendipity” are aware that due to my high-achieving family, I cringe somewhat at being identified, not as me on my own merits, but by association: sister-of, daughter-of, cousin-of, and of course “Pastor’s Wife”…)

… “Kylie, who is….. Claire’s lovely Friend.”

Thank you Claire. That is a label I will wear with pride.

Neil Sunsets and Baptism 047

Afterwards, my boss Lindsay chivalrously walked me to my car and gently shared some news. A very difficult situation that had occurred at work, and which had stressed me to the point of consuming my thoughts and actions in recent days and weeks, had been resolved, and to my satisfaction. My going “out on a limb” to do what I felt was right and to protect others had been vindicated.

The events of today have gone a long way to restoring Peace.

I am reminded of a very beautiful psalm. Here I share it with you:

Psalm 139

You have searched me, Lord,
and you know me.
You know when I sit and when I rise;
you perceive my thoughts from afar.
You discern my going out and my lying down;
you are familiar with all my ways.
Before a word is on my tongue
you, Lord, know it completely.
You hem me in behind and before,
and you lay your hand upon me.
Such knowledge is too wonderful for me,
too lofty for me to attain.

Where can I go from your Spirit?
Where can I flee from your presence?
If I go up to the heavens, you are there;
if I make my bed in the depths, you are there.
If I rise on the wings of the dawn,
if I settle on the far side of the sea,
10 even there your hand will guide me,
your right hand will hold me fast.
11 If I say, ‘Surely the darkness will hide me
and the light become night around me,’
12 even the darkness will not be dark to you;
the night will shine like the day,
for darkness is as light to you.

13 For you created my inmost being;
you knit me together in my mother’s womb.
14 I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
your works are wonderful,
I know that full well.

17 How precious to me are your thoughts,[a] God!
How vast is the sum of them!
18 Were I to count them,
they would outnumber the grains of sand –
when I awake, I am still with you.

23 Search me, God, and know my heart;
test me and know my anxious thoughts.
24 See if there is any offensive way in me,
and lead me in the way everlasting.

Psalm 319

Leave a Reply

