Stop the World – I Want to Get Off

Stardate: 15th April, 2015.

Ever felt like the world is closing in on you and everywhere you turn there is another obstacle?

That so much is “shouting loudly” that you don’t even know where to start with your “To-do” list? That’s rather how our lives appear at the moment, with seemingly one complication after another being thrown our way.

It amuses me when friends – in both the “Real” and “Facebook” worlds chat about their “Easter Break” and the amount of chocolate consumed.

But over in the Christian realm, the focus is somewhat different. As a friend who is a wonderful Church Organist so beautifully expressed to me recently: “The agony and the ecstasy of the Passion, Holy Week and Easter marathon for clergy, music and worship leaders and their families! Much more than a metaphorical journey with Christ, and always so wonderful to cross the finishing line exhausted and elated……..”

Whether or not you are a Christian, the Bible has much wisdom to share. [Indeed, it has been said that in my Parents’ generation, most schoolchildren had a working knowledge of The Bible and Shakespeare, something that in today’s “Google” world we have well and truly lost].

I was surprised to discover the phrase “No rest for the wicked” (which I quite often use as a smiling rejoinder) is a phrase originating from the Bible [from the Book of Isaiah.]

Well, sometimes I feel I must be very “Wicked” indeed, as my body cries out for sleep, yet my mind frets and worries.

Yet also in the Bible, in John Chapter 14, Jesus comforts his disciples, saying:

“Do not let your hearts be troubled. Trust in God; trust also in me”.

So, message to myself –remember that He has given his angels charge over me, and I need to let the Lord give me some measure of His Peace.

Psalm 91 says:

I will say of the Lord, “He is my refuge and my fortress,
my God, in whom I trust.”

He will cover you with his feathers,
and under his wings you will find refuge;
his faithfulness will be your shield and rampart.

11 For he will command his angels concerning you
to guard you in all your ways;
12 they will lift you up in their hands,
so that you will not strike your foot against a stone.

 

Leave a Reply

